h1

All Things Generational – Moments to Share

August 3, 2010

When was your last generational moment?  You know, that moment when you realize you aren’t connecting with the other person and you distinctively know it has to do with your age difference or an experience they can’t relate to because they weren’t born yet when it happened.  Have a good one? If so, let’s share.  Through the month of August, I’ll be posting different generational moments here on my blog – some are mine and some belong to others.  Enjoy!

Entering the 3rd Dimension

Entering the 3rd dimension…that’s how I felt recently during a conversation with my mom.  Some background – my mom is an older Boomer (but looks so much younger) and I am a younger Gen Xer.  Eight weeks ago my daughter was born so my mom was in town helping out.  With a company, a husband who owns a restaurant and an active 2-year-old son, I can use a lot of help.  One particular visit after disciplining my son, I was explaining to my mom about our new “time out” routine so she could help keep the discipline consistent. 

After I finished my explanation and dropped exhaustedly on the couch, my mom says, “You know…he is getting to the age where you need to reason with him.”  My mouth hit the floor as I stared at her.  My parents never reasoned with my brother and me.  They parented more like traditionalists – ”do as I say because I’m the parent, not your friend.“  

So the 180-degree change in parenting caught me completely off guard.  After I picked my mouth off the floor, I looked at her and said, “I’m not raising a brat – he’ll do as I say because I’m the parent.”  And I added “Who are you and what have you done with my mom?” as she laughed.  

I would have told you that my comment about not raising a brat made me sound like my mother, but I guess not.  Or maybe her parenting is now grandparenting and the rules are considerably different.   

Bueller…Bueller…

This is a generational moment brought to you by Colleen Brannon, President of Branstorm PR.

Whenever someone doesn’t respond to me, I follow up with a ‘Bueller?’ (based on the 80s Ferris Bueller movie) and more times than not, 20-somethings have no idea what I’m talking about. Yet those my age and beyond get it the first time and LOL (laugh out loud).

If you don’t know what she is talking about, I highly recommend you order Ferris Bueller’s Day Off on Netflix and watch it.  It’s an opportunity to connect with someone in a different generation (and enjoy a good movie). 

Have your own moment to share?

Please email it to me at stacey@sbrconsult.com or post a comment.  Check back on August 9th and every Monday after in August for additional moments.

One comment

  1. I was going to say the same thing with Ferris Bueller. We had guests in town (Chicago) and they brought ther children who are tweens. They said they wanted to go to the Art Institute to see the picture with all the dots. I said, yes it’s there and you won’t believe how big it is. It is the Ferris Bueller painting. They were clueless, so I said, you know Carrie from Sex in the City? Yes… She’s married to a guy who was in a little movie called Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. Oh… Then they went back to texting on their phones.



Leave a Reply

